Related releases


Goverment adopted the Ordinance amending the Ordinance on imposing and implementing measures to prevent the spread of COVID-19 at external border crossings and at internal border control points and in the interior of the Republic of Slovenia. All amendments to the Ordinance will enter into force on 1 October 2020.

Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican are from now on treated in the same way as the Schengen Area Member States. This means that persons from these countries, if these countries are included in the orange list, will be able to claim an exception when they are allowed to enter Slovenia without quarantine or a negative COVID-19 test.

The Ordinance also provides for recognizing the validity of all COVID-19 tests not older than 48 hours and taken in an EU Member State, a Schengen Member State or by an organisation or individual that are recognised as appropriate and reliable by the Institute of Microbiology and Immunology and the National Health Laboratory of Health, Environment and Food and are listed on the website of the National Laboratory of Health, Environment and Food . This means that tests conducted in accordance with the Decree at the aforementioned institutions in third countries are also recognised as valid.

Additional exceptions to quarantine or to the required submission of a negative test result at border crossings (for red and orange list countries or their administrative units) have been provided for two new cases:

  • persons crossing the border for familial reasons in order to maintain contact with close family members and returning within 72 hours of entry;
  • persons under the age of 14 who cross the border together with a close family member who has submitted a negative test result.

More information in government press release: In the coming days, the Government will present the action plan approved today to deal with the second wave of the COVID-19 epidemic

Related content

Border Crossing

Crossing the state border during the coronavirus epidemic