Related releases


The latest version of the Ordinance determining the conditions of entry into the Republic of Slovenia to contain and control Covid-19 entered into force on 2 January 2021.

The most important changes include:

  • a further five exemption categories for entry into Slovenia eliminating the requirement to quarantine or to present a negative PCR test;
  • PCR test validity extended to 48 hours;
  • five border crossings at the border with Croatia now provide rapid antigen testing.

New exemptions to the quarantine and negative PCR testing upon entry into Slovenia

As of 2 January 2021, the following five exemptions to the quarantine and negative PCR testing have been added to the existing list of exceptions with respect to Slovenia-bound travellers coming from a red-listed country:

  1. persons with a pre-scheduled medical appointment in the Republic of Slovenia who will return to their country immediately after their appointment. If a minor has a medical appointment, their guardian may enter Slovenia under the same conditions provided that they are traveling together;
  2. citizens of EU Member States or Schengen Area countries coming from another EU Member State or Schengen Area country where they provided care and assistance to persons in need of support, care and assistance of family members, parental care or contact with one’s child, or eliminated imminent danger to health, life and property and leaving Slovenia within 12 hours of crossing the border;
  3. children under the age of 13 and crossing the border together with a close family member who has not required to quarantine at home or has not been refused entry to Slovenia (i.e. if the person traveling with the child presents a negative test or meets one of 12 exemptions);
  4. athletes engaged in individual or team sports permitted by the ordinance temporarily restricting sporting activities and referees, sports delegates and members of the support staff of athletes for the purpose of competitions and training, if they test negative with a rapid antigen test at the border crossing point;
  5. members of the protection and rescue services, healthcare staff, police officers, firefighters and persons carrying out humanitarian transport or providing assistance in rescue missions and eliminating the consequences of natural disasters and returning to Slovenia within 48 hours of crossing the border.

Negative PCR test taken no more than 48 hours before

Travellers arriving from red-list countries are required to quarantine unless they present a negative PCR test. A negative PCR test shall not be older than 48 hours after taking the swab (where the time of taking the swab is not indicated, the PCR test validity period shall be the time indicated on the negative test certificate). Only PCR tests taken in an EU Member State or Schengen Area State are accepted as valid.

A negative rapid antigen test eliminates quarantine

Rapid antigen testing has been introduced at five border crossing with Croatia. Testing is free of charge.

If you enter Slovenia from a red-listed country at the external Schengen border and fail to present a negative PCR test upon arrival or meet any of the 12 exemptions, you may only enter Slovenia at a border crossing point where rapid antigen testing is provided. These border crossing points are:

  • Ljubljana Jože Pučnik Airport,
  • Obrežje border crossing point,
  • Gruškovje border crossing point,
  • Metlika border crossing point,
  • Središče ob Dravi border crossing point and
  • Jelšane border crossing point.

Persons who test negative with a rapid antigen test are allowed to enter Slovenia without having to home quarantine.

Persons who do not submit to rapid antigen testing or those who test positive will be refused entry into Slovenia if they are third-country nationals on a non-essential travel. Other persons who test positive or do not wish to be tested are allowed to enter Slovenia but will be required to home quarantine.

Related content

For most recent information on changes introduced by the ordinance, entry requirements and updates on red list of countries please go to the government web site Border Crossing