Related releases


The Government of the Republic of Slovenia adopted the Ordinance determining the conditions of entry into the Republic of Slovenia to contain and control Covid-19, which will enter into force on 13 February 2021.

New Exceptions

The new ordinance allows entry without quarantine and negative test also for persons who have been vaccinated against Covid-19 and persons who have recovered from Covid-19. These persons will have to produce certificates of testing or of vaccination.

The period of crossing the border is extended from eight to ten hours for persons who own or lease land in the border area or on both sides of the state border and cross the state border with a neighbouring country for the purpose of carrying out agricultural and forestry works and return to Slovenia within 10 hours of crossing the border.

There are no changes to other exceptions.

New list of countries with an unstable epidemiological situation

On the basis of the assessment of the epidemiological situation in individual countries or administrative regions, the government has determined the EU Member States or Schengen Area countries where the 14-day incidence of infection with SARS-CoV-2 per 100.000 people is higher than the 14-dan incidence in the Republic of Slovenia. The list of those countries, which shall be in force since 13 February, includes:

1. Czech Republic
2. Portugal
3. Spain

Checkpoints at internal borders lifted

The checkpoints at internal borders on road and railway connections are lifted. It is now possible to enter Slovenia from Italy, Austria and Hungary at any border crossing point. The police will perform checks in the course of their regular activities as necessary, both at the existing control points and other points of entry, as well as inside the country. Regardless of the location and manner of entry, each traveller must meet the entry requirements in accordance with this ordinance.

Red list of countries

There are some changes to the red list of EU Member States or Schengen Area countries with respect to certain administrative regions of Denmark and Italy, while the Finnish administrative region Helsinki – Uusimaa has been added to the list. There are no other changes, with the exception of Saint Lucia, which has been added to the list of third countries.

Related content

For most recent information on changes introduced by the ordinance, entry requirements, details on exempt categories, and updates on red list of countries please go to the government web site Border Crossing