Related releases


The latest amendments to the Ordinance determining the conditions of entry into the Republic of Slovenia to contain and control Covid-19 entered into force on 6 March, but will become effective on Monday, 8 March 2021. Border checkpoints of type A and type B are to be implemented on road connections at internal borders.

Crossing the border at type A checkpoints is allowed to all passengers on a 24/7 basis.

Crossing the border at type B checkpoints is allowed only to persons qualifying as exemptions under Article 10 of the ordinance. Type B checkpoints are also intended for citizens of Slovenia, citizens of the neighbouring countries (Italy, Austria, Hungary) and citizens of other Member States of the European Union or Schengen Area on condition that they reside in a municipality bordering the neighbouring country or if they reside in an administrative unit (i.e. a province in Italy, a state in Austria, a statistical region in Hungary) bordering Slovenia.

There are some changes as regards exempt categories that do not need to quarantine or show a negative test on entry into Slovenia. Some of these new rules will begin to take effect on 15 March (five exempt categories of travellers will be able to enter Slovenia with a negative coronavirus test that is not more than 7 days old).

There is also a new rule according to which it is possible to stop quarantine, but only 5 days after receiving the self-isolation order.

There have also been changes to the Red List of countries. On the EU/Schengen Area list of countries, changes now apply to specific areas/provinces in Austria, Finland, France, Greece, Italy, Norway and Spain. Cuba was added to the Red List of third countries.

Related content

For most recent information on changes introduced by the ordinance, entry requirements, details on exempt categories, checkpoints, and updates on red list of countries see also the government web site Border Crossing