Related releases


The amendments to the Ordinance determining the conditions of entry into the Republic of Slovenia to contain and control Covid-19 take effect today, on 19 March 2021, introducing, among other things, a new rule for students under the age of 13 who cross the border daily. These students do not need to show a negative test on entry.

The pre-entry negative test requirement is in place for drivers transporting such students. A driver must show a negative PCR or a rapid antigen test taken no more than 7 days ago and must return across the border immediately after completing the ride.

Members of civil protection services, healthcare professionals, police staff, firefighters or other persons involved in transportation of humanitarian aid or assisting in elementary disaster rescue and recovery are no longer under the obligation to take a PCR or a rapid antigen test upon arrival in Slovenia provided that they leave within 24 hours.

The hours of operation of two type B border checkpoints on the border with Austria, i.e. Trate and Jurij, have changed.

There are some changes on the red list of EU MS and Schengen Area states regarding Austria, Denmark, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Norway and Portugal. The Bahamas have been removed from the list of third countries.

More information

For most recent information on changes introduced by the ordinance, entry requirements, details on exempt categories, checkpoints, and updates on red list of countries see also the government web site Border Crossing