Related releases


Following the adoption of amendments to the Ordinance on imposing and implementing measures for the prevention of the spread of COVID-19 at border crossings at the external border and at checkpoints at the internal borders of the Republic of Slovenia (Ordinance hereafter) on 17 May 2020, the Government of the Republic of Slovenia yesterday, 18 May 2020, also determined a list of countries whose residents may enter Slovenia in accordance with Paragraph1, Article 9 of the Ordinance.

In line with the National Public Health Institute's epidemiology report, Croatia is the first country to be put on this list of countries.

Paragraph1, Article 9 of the Ordinance namely stipulates conditions for entry to Slovenia for persons with temporary or permanent residence in European Union or Schengen Area countries who have not left the territory of European Union or the Schengen Area for more than 14 days.

As stipulated in Paragraph 5, Article 9 of the Ordinance, conditions for entry for these persons (except Slovenian citizens and foreign nationals with permanent residence in Slovenia) shall be implemented gradually, according to the epidemiological situation in neighbouring countries and on the grounds of adoption of bilateral technical agreements with neighbouring countries and other European Union and Schengen Area member states, or, if reached before these, in the framework of a possible general agreement at the EU level.

Pursuant to the Ordinance, the Government shall determine and change the list of countries from which persons are entering Slovenia by issuing a Decision. The up-to-date list and any changes will be published on the website of the National Public Health Institute and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The Government may update the list of countries with a Decision adopted on the grounds of National Public Health Institute’s assessment of epidemiological situation and Ministry of Interior’s notification on concluded technical agreements with individual countries.

Yesterday, Croatia was the first country to be featured on this list of countries. National Public Health Institute's Report namely stated that the risk of spreading of the COVID-19 infection in Slovenia as well as Croatia is very similar, and that there is currently no need for special restrictions of movement between both countries. Going into quarantine and self-isolation are also no longer required after crossing the border between the countries.

Government has agreed that until technical agreements are concluded existing valid agreements with neighbouring countries allowing crossing the borders shall remain in force for:

  • daily cross-border migrants holders of proof of having employment contract in the neighbouring country, i.e., a signed statement in which the reason for crossing the border as daily worker migrant is justified,
  • weekly cross-border migrants, holders of proof on having employment contract in the neighbouring country, i.e., a signed statement in which the reason for crossing the border as weekly worker migrant is justified,
  • dual owners or tenants of plots of land who have plots of land on both sides of the border and perform agricultural work,
  • holders of proof on scheduled doctor's appointment or treatment/surgery in Slovenia or the neighbouring country on the day of crossing the border,
  • persons crossing the border because of enrolment into education in neighbouring countries or in Slovenia and are able to confirm this with adequate proof, and their parents or other persons giving them a lift, thus crossing the border as part of their commute in both directions on the same day.

Related topics

Ordinance on measures to prevent the spread of COVID-19 at the state border amended yesterday

Crossing the state border during the coronavirus epidemic